News

26 June Weekly Boxing Review

Ringstar Management partners with REALCOMBATMEDIA to provide the most comprehensive weekly sports coverage!

Monday (June 26, 2017)
Chaves Sr’s Brother Shot and Killed

Rafael Chavez was shot and killed during a robbery on Sunday; Rafael is bother to hall of fame boxing Julio Cesar Chavez Sr. The robbers broke into Rafael’s house with weapons and demanded that Rafael give them money. Rafael gave up some money but the robber insisted that he hand over more. When Rafael resisted the robbers shot and killed him in front of his family. The criminals who committed this are unknown and most likely never to be caught since it was committed in Mexico.

Tuesday (June 27, 2017)
Showtime Stacked Card

Adrien Broner and Mikey Garcia are set to meet in the ring on August 29th at the Barclay’s Center and it will be shown live on Showtime. Broner vs Garcia alone gets fans excited but if that wasn’t enough the card will be stacked with three other exciting fighting. First up that night will be Gerald Washington vs Jarrell “Big Baby” Miller in a heavyweight match. Washington recently lost by KO against Deontay Wilder. Miller on the other hand is an up and coming contender trying to make a name for himself. Next will be IBF world super welterweight champion Jarrett Hurd against Austin trout. On the co-main event Jermall Charlo returns to the ring against Jorge Sebastian Heiland at 160 lbs. The winner of the fight will become the mandatory for the WBC Middleweight Champion Gennady Golovkin. Which fight are you most excited to see?

Wednesday (June 28, 2017)
Claressa Shields Returns

Two time Olympic Gold Medalist Claressa Shields is set to return to the ring on August 4thagainst WBC Super Middleweight World Champion Nikki Adler. The fight will be the main event on Showtime that night. The fight will be taking place at the MGM Grand Arena.

“It is a dream come true for me to be fighting for a major world title in just my fourth professional fight. I thank the champ, Nikki Adler, and her team for accepting the challenge and for coming to the U.S. for this championship. This fight is not only a milestone for me, it also is the biggest fight of the year in women’s boxing. I want to thank SHOWTIME for their commitment to me and for their support of women’s boxing. I promise to be in the best shape of my life and to give all my fans a performance to remember.” said Shields.

Thursday (June 29, 2017)
Ortiz Returns To The Ring

Victor Ortiz was last seen in the ring against Andre Berto in April of last year. Ortiz was knocked out in the fourth round of the fight. Ortiz will be returning to the ring against a fighter by the name of Saul Corral on Fox Sports 1 on June 30th. If Ortiz wins the fight will he be more active? If he loses should he retire? What big names in boxing can Ortiz beat? These are the questions fans should be asking about Victor Ortiz.

Friday (June 30, 2017)
Crawford and Lomachenko on ESPN

Terence Crawford and Vasyl Lomachenko were HBO’s bread and butter but now they have moved over to ESPN. Top Rank partnered with ESPN for the Pacquiao vs Horn Fight and it looks like they will continue to work together. Lomachenko is set to fight on ESPN against Miguel Marriaga on August 4thTwo weeks later Crawford is set to fight on ESPN against Julius Indongo on August 19th; the winner between the two fighters will be the undisputed champion at 140 lbs. It’s not clear whether or not these fighters will be returning to HBO.

Saturday (July 1, 2017)
Pacquiao vs Horn

Jeff Horn was given a decision against Manny Pacquiao on Saturday which many consider to be a robbery. The only people who might think Horn won are probably in his corner. Horn was reckless throughout the fight giving Pacquiao some trouble. Horn was aggressive but he was not effective. It looked like Pacquiao was being bullied but he was landing the cleaner and more effective punches. In the ninth round of the fight Pacquiao was slaughtering Horn who had nothing to respond with. For a second it looked like the referee was going to stop the fight but he let it continue. The final scores were 117-111, 115-113, and 115-113 all in favor of Horn. Final copy box numbers showed that Pacquiao landed 189 punches in the fight while Horn only landed 98 punches during the fight; this means Pacquiao landed 91 more punches than Horn landed. It seems that boxing is one of the only sports where they can rob someone of a win and there’s nothing the athlete nor the fans can do about it. It’s almost guaranteed that we will be seeing a rematch between Pacquiao and Horn.

Sunday (July 2, 2017)
Pacquiao vs Horn Streaming Numbers

Nielsen ratings might indicate that the ratings for the Pacquiao vs Horn fight are most likely one of ESPN’s highest tv-rated fights since the 1990’s. Not only that but the Pacquiao vs Horn fight broke the record for ESPN and ESPN Deportes’ most streamed boxing match to date. The stream had 392 thousand unique viewers and a minute average of 78 thousand viewers. In total the stream had a total of 14.4 million minutes viewed. By the looks of it boxing (and sports in general) will be streamed more and more as time goes on. Sooner or later the internet will be your main source of boxing, not cable providers.

Monday (July 3, 2017)
Roach Talks Pacquiao’s Retirement

Recently Manny Pacquiao’s coach, Freddie Roach, expressed that he will talk to Pacquiao about retirement. “I´m going to talk to Manny about maybe calling it a day, maybe this is it,” Roach said. Even though Roach thought Pacquiao won the fight what might concern him is how he sees Pacquiao slowing down as he gets older. The question is how many more times should Pacquiao fight? Should he have one more fight against a top name and then hang up the gloves? Or should Pacquiao have a final farewell fight?

ABOUT REAL COMBAT MEDIA: Real Combat Media was founded in 2012. Since then realcombatmedia.com has become one of the most efficient premier international boxing and mixed martial arts online publications in the world. Our talented international team covers the latest combat news on a daily basis to provide the combat community with the best news in the industry for our readers. Our mission is to spread positive awareness of the combat sports to grow interest among the mainstream and to every region of the world.

Comments are closed